JVC GC-FM1

I had the opportunity to give the recorder a good test during two recent trips.  Indoors and outdoors with a variety of weather conditions – cloud cover, sunshine, and light rain.

All in all, I was pleased with the recordings.  Bigger problem was my computer didn’t have enough memory and speed to properly render the .mov files in Quicktime, so I converted them to a lower resolution .wmv file to upload to YouTube.  I did keep the native .mov and plan to watch them on an HD TV with the HDMI cable.

Video taken using the device and converted to 740 x 480 .wmv is available on YouTube.  Here is one clip of a formula Mazda Pro car.

I also took some video at the Andretti Winery and I thought the picture and color were very good considering the size of the camera.  Low light is an issue for the video, though.  On a trip to NYC, I attempted some evening video and indoors at Radio City prior to the performance, and it came out very dark.

The few stills I took weren’t as good as my regular digital camera, but I didn’t expect them to be.  Here is a shot I took of the Golden Gate Bridge, through the windshield, as we were driving (not ideal conditions):

PIC_0027

The biggest challenge with this class of camera for either video or still images is the zoom and sound.  The digital zoom results in lower resolution and you have a very limited ability to zoom in.  The recorded sound is okay, but it seems like it could be much better.

The final down-side to the camera function is a lack of flash.  Indoor photos with low light and evening are next to impossible as a result.

For me, the portable size outweighs most issues for me, and I’m glad I made the purchase.

Leave a comment