Working with Alice

I read Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture while traveling recently and upon my return looked up www.Alice.org.  I have tried on a few occasions to learn object oriented programing, and I get a bit of it, but not to the point where I could actually program anything.

I downloaded the software, followed the tutorials and began playing with Alice 2.2.  I then downloaded Storytelling Alice and showed my daughters, ages 12 and 7.  They loved it.  Each went to a computer and started writing stories.  My older daughter showed the younger one how to do it.

To date, the stories have been fairly basic.  I’d like to get a hold of the teaching material used by schools, then we could get into developing some actions that will serve them well down the road.

In the meantime, I’ll continue to let them play and experiment with this great product.  Thanks to everyone involved in the project!

Leave a Reply

